Engineering Exam

There are several engineering entrance examinations in India:

All India Engineering Entrance Exam  
(AIEEE) as Joint Entrance Examination (Main) (JEE(Main))

Indian Institute of Technology Joint Entrance Examination       (IIT-JEE) as Joint Entrance Examination (Advanced) (JEE(Advanced))



  • DTU
  • WB-JEE
  • Jamia Millia Islamia University Engg Entrance Exam
  • OJEE
  • VITEEE[1] (VIT University)
  • GGSIPU-Delhi
  • UPTU
  • RPET
  • DELHI CEE (Delhi Engineering College)
The Engineering Entrance Examination (EEE), was an examination organized by the Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) in India. Introduced in the year 2002, this national level competitive test is for admission to various under-graduate engineering and architecture courses in institutes accepting the AIEEE score, mainly 30 National Institutes of Technology (NITs) and 5 Indian Institute of Information Technology (IIITs). The examination was generally held on the last Sunday of April and results are announced in the last week of May or the first week of June. Candidates are ranked on an all-India basis and state basis. Thus, they have an All India Rank (AIR) and a State Rank (SR). Since April 2013, the examination was replaced by Joint Entrance Examination.
The examination consists of only two papers: Paper 1 for B.E./B.Tech courses and Paper 2 for B.Arch courses. A candidate can opt for any or both the papers. Paper 1 has three sections: Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry with equal weight for each subject. Each section consists of multiple choice objective-type questions each of which has four choices. Out of the four choices for a given question, only one choice is correct. Paper 1 has a negative-marking scheme wherein an incorrect answer is negatively marked with one fourth of the maximum marks allotted to the question. Paper 2 has three sections: Mathematics, Drawing, and Aptitude. Mathematics, and Drawing sections have multiple choice objective-type questions and the Aptitude section has drawing-based questions. The duration of each paper is three hours. Candidates are not allowed to carry any textual material, calculators, logarithmic tables or electronic devices into the examination hall. The number of questions and their maximum marks have been variable through the years. The questions are based on a syllabus that is common to syllabi of all the state boards in India and the Central Board of Secondary Education. Candidates can opt for question papers either in English or in Hindi language. For admission to B.Tech or B.E. courses in the participating institutes the candidate is required to take the Paper 1; for admission to B.Arch or B. Planning courses the candidate is required to take Paper 2. Students can opt to take any one or both the papers.[2] The examination was conducted in offline pen and paper mode till 2010. In 2011, as per the orders of the Ministry of Human Resource Development, CBSE conducted Paper 1 in Computer-Based-Test mode for the first one lakh candidates who opted for the same, while the remaining students took the examination in the conventional pen and paper mode.[3] The number of attempts which a candidate can avail at the examination is limited to three in consecutive years. In 2013 the Ministry of Human Resource Development merged IIT-JEE and AIEEE with a common entrance test for all government engineering colleges which will be called JEE which consists of two modes: JEE(Main) and JEE(Advanced). Candidates selected from JEE(Main) compete in give JEE(Advanced) for admission in IITs.

No comments:

Post a comment